My Take on being a mum

Photo by Dazzle Jam on Pexels.com

My take on being a mum

Is motherhood a sacrifice or a privilege? Is it selfless or selfish? Many may say that I am writing from a place of privilege therefore project that privilege to what I know for sure. What can I say about my journey of motherhood?

Through the years I have lived on this earth, I have learnt to embrace life with courage. Walking into motherhood was one of my bucket lists but I gamboled onto it with uncertainty at a time I thought I was not ready. At this juncture I can write with authority that motherhood is the most rewarding and gratifying 24 hour job.

Allow me to walk you into my world. She is a jolly, outspoken and self confident 11 year old. She has the greatest imagination and a good story teller a lover of creative arts. I love how she loves her baby sister and is very caring towards her. She loves dancing and her expressions are priceless. She awarded me the tag of a mother.

Not a while later came along a lovable and chubby inquisitive keen to detail 9 year old girl. She loves art and crafts and can spend hours on end drawing, tracing, coloring and cutting out magazine pictures. I love her eagerness to help me in house chores around the house. She says the funniest cheekiest things that make us laugh,

Am excited to write about the baby. She has a bubbly cheeky personality shinning though. She is a social butterfly, I love her heartwarming inviting smile. She is playful and loves outdoors. I love her enthusiasm for life. And this one is my copy.

I love to see the relationship between our girls. As a mother of three, I manage to discharge my responsibilities effortlessly and balance my career, my business and my family. Motherhood is a journey within the purview of joy, resilience, gratitude, possibility, awe, clarity the list is endless. All these virtues are a guide to becoming the best self you can be as an individual. The call to be mothers is universal and deep; the experience forces change and growth in ways few other experiences do.

The subject of motherhood is a tender one that evokes some of our greatest joys and agonies.  These afflictions vary in description and context. Some experience agony because of their children: others don’t have children yet others live with the irksome feeling that they should have done better with their children. Every mother is more than a mom and is different from other mothers. There is no one right way to be a mother.  There is diversity in motherhood.

My journey of motherhood has been shaped by: Getting and staying organized by planning and staying focused, scheduling a mummy day and taking care of myself

Getting and staying organized by planning and staying focused. I have learnt to organize everything in my house (by this I am talking about the kitchen to the babies’ room) and at my work place so that it is easy to reach anything I am looking for. I wrote about this in the Self Compassion post. I literally have a plan for everything. This is made easy by Apps I have downloaded in my smart phone. I have consciously set aside 30 minutes every evening to check through my days activities to go through my children’s homework and signing them and to note what I did not manage to do.  I avoid procrastination and this has contributed to remaining focused day in day out.

Schedule a mummy day. I have made intentional plans for most Saturday or Sunday afternoons as the time to spend with my little girls either swimming, chatting, shopping in the mall, trying out a recipe, spa date, playing junior monopoly or our newest, going for evening beach walks. This has enhanced the relationship with my daughters.

My mission in life is not to merely survive, but to thrive and to do so with passion, some humor, and some style.

Maya Angelou

I cant emphasis more on Self Compassion. I have learnt to spare some little time and money to appreciate myself. I used to get lost in the tasks for the children, the house and my husband and never for me. I learnt that “We are each responsible for our own life. If you’re holding anyone else accountable for your happiness, you are wasting your time. You must be fearless enough to give yourself love. “TV Talk show host Oprah Winfrey   

I am confident to write that it is possible to be a mother, a woman and an achiever.  A woman who balances her job and her family enjoys the stimulation that a career provides. She feels good about herself and takes better care of herself. Along with motherhood, a successful career adds to the completeness of being a woman.

Motherhood is the greatest thing and the hardest thing  

Ricki Lake  

Published by Wangeshi Wambua

Wangeshi Wambua is a passionate nurse, an experienced university lecturer, a wife and mother to three beautiful girls, a fashion and beauty enthusiast. I am ambitious, sociable, courageous, enthusiastic, adventurous and laid back. I am into getting people excited about the things am thrilled about most often motivation and beauty. My great passion is sharing my life experiences to mentor and motivate women and girls to live the life of their dreams. Am always looking for opportunities to learn new things. My hobbies include travelling, playing board games (If you challenge me to scrabble I will win), cooking and home décor. Currently a neophyte at writing.

32 thoughts on “My Take on being a mum

  1. Awwww Jackie, thank you so much for the compliment. Remember our little secret “intentional living”. I appreciate you dear. Indeed I will keep you inspired

    Like

  2. I loved loved this article. Your level of organization makes it seem like you have more than 24 hours in a day. I admire that about you. You are an inspiration. Keep feeding us this awesome kind of content.

    Like

  3. Thank you my dear for the beautiful sentiments. Without a doubt Family come first. I appreciate your taking time to read the piece

    Like

  4. Absolutely Betty. Thank you for taking time to read and the kind words. I wish you the best that this journey can offer.

    Like

  5. Beautiful motherhood experience….I confirm your sentiments and also echo that motherhood is the biggest gamble in the world…always not about self but all family in your thoughts. Beautiful

    Like

  6. Beautiful motherhood experience….I confirm your sentiments and also echo that motherhood is the biggest gamble in the world…always not about self but all family in your thoughts. Beautiful

    Like

  7. I resonate with your words, motherhood is the best gift i ever received abd it shaped me for greater things because i learnt very quickly that i needed to fend for more. Its been a great journey.
    The story is great keep on gal keep on, your naration skills are on top

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks Emmy. I appreciate. May God guide you in your journey. May you be the best mum to your bundle of blessings.

    Like

  9. Thank you so much for passing by. I am glad the piece inspired you and ignited a desire to be the best version of a parent that you can be.

    Like

  10. Thank you so much Peter. I am truely honoured by your kindness. 🙏🏾🙏🏾
    Motherhood is indeed a call, and we all have an opportunity to take it to the next level of greatness. All I can say to our daughters is “Here’s to strong women(fathers). May we know them. May we be them. May we raise them.”

    Like

  11. This is just heart warming. A mother is a great task. “All that I am and all that I hope to be I owe it all to my mother” less brown. Diana mothers make people, and most personality disorders especially NPD are incurable disorders mainly caused by neglect. Choosing to not only be a mother, but a good mother is a task larger than life.
    I have learnt a few things I should incorporate in my journey as a father, in your article. Trully inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Thank you Onalenna, I appreciate you taking time to read. thanks so much. I didn’t know you write too. I will visit your site as well. it looks so pretty

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Thanks you Terry! Without a doubt, we must individually take responsibility of our own lives. Am glad the piece inspired you.

    Like

  14. Thank you Lucy, Precisely, it is a unique time in our lives where we experience own rebirth in immense ways. I appreciate your taking time to read. am encouraged to keep going.

    Like

  15. Oh Yes Maggy! By all means you take care of you, then all other things fall in place. Thanks for always stopping by and reading my blog.

    Like

  16. Thank you Joy for the kind remarks. Without a doubt we must strike a balance because our lives revolve around our loved ones and many other responsibilities.

    Like

  17. “We are each responsible for our own life. If you’re holding anyone else accountable for your happiness, you are wasting your time. You must be fearless enough to give yourself love.”What a beautiful world this would be if we all lived by this words. Wonderful piece Diana.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Awesome piece Diana! My take home >Plan and stay organized, avoid procrastination, schedule mummy time with the babies and look after the most important person(Myself). Love it!

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Beautifully articulated thoughts and expression of your motherhood experience.Can clearly feel the warmth of the love 💕

    Like

  20. Beautifully articulated thoughts and expression of your motherhood experience.Can clearly feel the warmth of the love 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Great piece don’t hold one for your” happiness “and never to procrastinate, Good Dainah Good nite

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment